libsigrokdecode.git
8 years agosrd: Add NEWS file.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 31 Mar 2012 09:37:19 +0000 (11:37 +0200)]
srd: Add NEWS file.

8 years agosrd: SRD_PACKAGE_VERSION_* for consistency.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 31 Mar 2012 09:31:14 +0000 (11:31 +0200)]
srd: SRD_PACKAGE_VERSION_* for consistency.

No need to use the LIBSIGROKDECODE_ prefix here when we use SRD_ everywhere
else. Also, better distinction between package version and lib version.

8 years agosrd: Some more (optional) consistency renames.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 13:08:16 +0000 (15:08 +0200)]
srd: Some more (optional) consistency renames.

8 years agosrd/cli/qt: Some more API consistency renames.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 12:49:11 +0000 (14:49 +0200)]
srd/cli/qt: Some more API consistency renames.

8 years agosrd: PDs: Kill obsolete 'longdesc' entries.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 07:39:44 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
srd: PDs: Kill obsolete 'longdesc' entries.

8 years agosrd: Add .gitignore file.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 24 Mar 2012 21:05:59 +0000 (22:05 +0100)]
srd: Add .gitignore file.

8 years agosrd: sigrokdecode.h: Add version macros.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 24 Mar 2012 18:41:40 +0000 (19:41 +0100)]
srd: sigrokdecode.h: Add version macros.

8 years agosrd: Rename sigrokdecode.h to sigrokdecode.h.in.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 24 Mar 2012 16:52:48 +0000 (17:52 +0100)]
srd: Rename sigrokdecode.h to sigrokdecode.h.in.

8 years agosrd: List 'report()' in all PDs for consistency.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 24 Mar 2012 08:37:55 +0000 (09:37 +0100)]
srd: List 'report()' in all PDs for consistency.

8 years agosrd: Drop unused inputformats/outputformats entries.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 21:38:08 +0000 (22:38 +0100)]
srd: Drop unused inputformats/outputformats entries.

8 years agosr/srd: Remove API warnings from READMEs.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 21:33:51 +0000 (22:33 +0100)]
sr/srd: Remove API warnings from READMEs.

We'll have a libsigrok and a libsigrokdecode release soon. After that,
any API changes must be properly documented and reflected in the
SO version (and package version) numbers of the libs.

8 years agosrd: Drop ebr30a_i2c_demux in favor of i2cdemux.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 18:40:07 +0000 (19:40 +0100)]
srd: Drop ebr30a_i2c_demux in favor of i2cdemux.

The i2cdemux protocol decoder is the more generic version of the
obsolete ebr30a_i2c_demux decoder, and should be able (now or later) to do
everything that ebr30a_i2c_demux can do.

8 years agosr/srd: Small fixes, constifications, doc updates.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 18:28:43 +0000 (19:28 +0100)]
sr/srd: Small fixes, constifications, doc updates.

8 years agosr/cli/gtk/qt: Fix package version numbers / docs.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 17:40:25 +0000 (18:40 +0100)]
sr/cli/gtk/qt: Fix package version numbers / docs.

The next (and first) libsigrok release will be called 0.1.0.

The next (and first) libsigrokdecode release will be called 0.1.0.

The next sigrok-cli release will be called 0.3.0 (as we already had a 0.1
and 0.2 release of sigrok-cli; those did not yet use the libs, though).

sigrok-gtk and sigrok-qt didn't have any releases yet, so their version
numbers are set to 0.1.0.

Also, consistently use three numbers/digits for our version numbers.

8 years agosrd: srd_exit(): Set pd_list to NULL after freeing.
Uwe Hermann [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 17:02:45 +0000 (18:02 +0100)]
srd: srd_exit(): Set pd_list to NULL after freeing.

This will ensure that any subsequent checks for pd_list == NULL work
properly.

8 years agosrd/cli/qt: s/srd_session_feed/srd_session_send/.
Uwe Hermann [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 16:58:25 +0000 (17:58 +0100)]
srd/cli/qt: s/srd_session_feed/srd_session_send/.

8 years agosrd/cli/qt:s/decoders/decoder/ for consistency.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 14:25:53 +0000 (15:25 +0100)]
srd/cli/qt:s/decoders/decoder/ for consistency.

8 years agosrd: Constify lots more parameters.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 14:12:54 +0000 (15:12 +0100)]
srd: Constify lots more parameters.

8 years agosrd: Cosmetics, fix/add Doxygen comments.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 21:00:24 +0000 (22:00 +0100)]
srd: Cosmetics, fix/add Doxygen comments.

8 years agosrd: Fix typos.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 13:16:50 +0000 (14:16 +0100)]
srd: Fix typos.

8 years agosrd: Drop unused ARRAY_SIZE/ARRAY_AND_SIZE for now.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 21:12:08 +0000 (22:12 +0100)]
srd: Drop unused ARRAY_SIZE/ARRAY_AND_SIZE for now.

8 years agosrd: I2C: Update PD protocol docs.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 09:55:30 +0000 (10:55 +0100)]
srd: I2C: Update PD protocol docs.

8 years agosrd: PDs: More cosmetics.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 09:40:58 +0000 (10:40 +0100)]
srd: PDs: More cosmetics.

8 years agosrd: PDs: Use strings for states, too.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 09:13:29 +0000 (10:13 +0100)]
srd: PDs: Use strings for states, too.

8 years agosrd: PDs: Consistency/cosmetic fixes.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 13:39:14 +0000 (14:39 +0100)]
srd: PDs: Consistency/cosmetic fixes.

8 years agosr/srd: s/handler/callback/.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 13:13:21 +0000 (14:13 +0100)]
sr/srd: s/handler/callback/.

We should consistently use the same name for the same thing.

8 years agosr: Name all callback data 'cb_data'.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 21:32:34 +0000 (22:32 +0100)]
sr: Name all callback data 'cb_data'.

8 years agosr/srd: Consistency fixes for callbacks.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 29 Feb 2012 20:56:24 +0000 (21:56 +0100)]
sr/srd: Consistency fixes for callbacks.

 - Callback function pointer typedefs end with _t.

 - Variables holding callback functions are named 'cb' everywhere.

8 years agosrd: I2C: change format to have ACK/NACK bits as separate events
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 13:33:45 +0000 (14:33 +0100)]
srd: I2C: change format to have ACK/NACK bits as separate events

8 years agosrd: fix SIGROKDECODE_DIR env variable brokenness
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 01:01:41 +0000 (02:01 +0100)]
srd: fix SIGROKDECODE_DIR env variable brokenness

8 years agosrd: properly return status code
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 28 Feb 2012 00:16:29 +0000 (01:16 +0100)]
srd: properly return status code

8 years agosrd: PDs: Whitespace and cosmetics.
Uwe Hermann [Mon, 27 Feb 2012 23:42:45 +0000 (00:42 +0100)]
srd: PDs: Whitespace and cosmetics.

8 years agosrd: rename public API functions to srd_thing_action format
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 02:43:28 +0000 (03:43 +0100)]
srd: rename public API functions to srd_thing_action format

8 years agosrd: don't load all protocol decoders unless we really need to.
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 02:28:53 +0000 (03:28 +0100)]
srd: don't load all protocol decoders unless we really need to.

8 years agosrd: last public/private fix, and docs for all publis functions.
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 13:55:20 +0000 (14:55 +0100)]
srd: last public/private fix, and docs for all publis functions.

8 years agosrd: finish up public/private API
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 13:18:32 +0000 (14:18 +0100)]
srd: finish up public/private API

8 years agosrd: no public API functions use python-specific arguments now
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 12:47:07 +0000 (13:47 +0100)]
srd: no public API functions use python-specific arguments now

8 years agosrd: extra module path can now optionally be passed to srd_init()
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 03:07:22 +0000 (04:07 +0100)]
srd: extra module path can now optionally be passed to srd_init()

Also environment variable SIGROKDECODE_DIR, if present, is prepended
to the module path.

8 years agoRename 'void *' callback parameters to 'user_data'.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 11 Feb 2012 21:09:18 +0000 (22:09 +0100)]
Rename 'void *' callback parameters to 'user_data'.

This is better, both for consistency reasons, and also because 'data' is
a bit too generic and might be confusing, especially since we have other
'data' fields in the code in various places.

8 years agosrd: Every callback should have a 'void *' parameter.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 11 Feb 2012 21:38:17 +0000 (22:38 +0100)]
srd: Every callback should have a 'void *' parameter.

This is required in various situations and for various lib users,
especially so GUIs which might want to pass specific info via this
mechanism.

8 years agoUse g_try_malloc/g_free/g_strdup consistently.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 11 Feb 2012 19:06:46 +0000 (20:06 +0100)]
Use g_try_malloc/g_free/g_strdup consistently.

Avoid plain malloc()/free() in sr/srd, especially in the API calls.
Also avoid g_malloc*() in favor of g_try_malloc*().

Use g_strdup() instead of strdup() so that we can use g_free()
consistently everywhere.

Exceptions: Stuff that is allocated via other libs (not using glib),
should also be properly free'd using the respective free-ing function
(instead of g_free()). Examples: Stuff allocated by libusb, libftdi, etc.

Also, use sr_err() instead of sr_warn() for actual errors. sr_warn() is
meant for non-fatal/uncritical warnings.

8 years agosrd: rename all instance to inst
Bert Vermeulen [Sat, 11 Feb 2012 17:06:56 +0000 (18:06 +0100)]
srd: rename all instance to inst

8 years agosrd: Update README.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 10 Feb 2012 23:43:26 +0000 (00:43 +0100)]
srd: Update README.

8 years agosrd: s/python/Python/.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 10 Feb 2012 08:29:38 +0000 (09:29 +0100)]
srd: s/python/Python/.

8 years agosrd: Add/improve g_malloc() error messages.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 23:06:58 +0000 (00:06 +0100)]
srd: Add/improve g_malloc() error messages.

8 years agosrd: Move private symbols to sigrokdecode-internal.h.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 18:17:54 +0000 (19:17 +0100)]
srd: Move private symbols to sigrokdecode-internal.h.

8 years agosrd: Add/use SRD_API/SRD_PRIV macros.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 18:11:53 +0000 (19:11 +0100)]
srd: Add/use SRD_API/SRD_PRIV macros.

This is not yet finished, more things should be made private.

8 years agosrd: Cosmetics, whitespace, coding-style fixes.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 21:39:30 +0000 (22:39 +0100)]
srd: Cosmetics, whitespace, coding-style fixes.

8 years agosrd: More consistent log related function names.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 18:52:43 +0000 (19:52 +0100)]
srd: More consistent log related function names.

Also, fix typos, constify some parameters, add more Doxygen comments.

8 years agoProject-wide consistent naming for #include guards.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 4 Feb 2012 09:41:30 +0000 (10:41 +0100)]
Project-wide consistent naming for #include guards.

Document the naming scheme in HACKING.

8 years agoautogen.sh: aclocal support for Windows XP/Vista/7.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 5 Feb 2012 11:54:44 +0000 (12:54 +0100)]
autogen.sh: aclocal support for Windows XP/Vista/7.

8 years agosrd: Add explicit srd_pd_output_callback_t typedef.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 08:28:56 +0000 (09:28 +0100)]
srd: Add explicit srd_pd_output_callback_t typedef.

8 years agosrd: Properly use append() for appending to lists.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 22:14:29 +0000 (23:14 +0100)]
srd: Properly use append() for appending to lists.

This is not only the canonical way to do it, it's also quite a bit faster
and less memory-intensive than using '+='.

8 years agosrd: Move all protocol docs to __init__.py files.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 21:23:03 +0000 (22:23 +0100)]
srd: Move all protocol docs to __init__.py files.

8 years agosrd: spi: Use strings for most options.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 20:57:43 +0000 (21:57 +0100)]
srd: spi: Use strings for most options.

8 years agosrd: uart: Use strings for most PD options.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 18:47:50 +0000 (19:47 +0100)]
srd: uart: Use strings for most PD options.

8 years agosrd: uart: Move protocol docs to __init__.py.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 18:24:21 +0000 (19:24 +0100)]
srd: uart: Move protocol docs to __init__.py.

8 years agosrd: uart: Add missing initialization.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 18:07:11 +0000 (19:07 +0100)]
srd: uart: Add missing initialization.

8 years agosrd: uart: Use strings for packet types.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 17:59:18 +0000 (18:59 +0100)]
srd: uart: Use strings for packet types.

While this has a (small) performance penalty compared to using integers,
it has the advantage of not requiring the use of magic numbers which
need to be declared in both the UART decoder and all decoders which
stack on top of UART.

8 years agosrd: rename extra_probes to optional_probes in all PDs
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 23:13:42 +0000 (00:13 +0100)]
srd: rename extra_probes to optional_probes in all PDs

8 years agosrd: rename extra_probes to optional_probes
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 23:07:55 +0000 (00:07 +0100)]
srd: rename extra_probes to optional_probes

8 years agosrd: free all decoder instances when unloading decoders
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 22:48:10 +0000 (23:48 +0100)]
srd: free all decoder instances when unloading decoders

8 years agosrd: avoid POSIX_SOURCE warning
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 21:35:22 +0000 (22:35 +0100)]
srd: avoid POSIX_SOURCE warning

8 years agosrd: remove obsolete DDC-only I2C filter
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 17:07:59 +0000 (18:07 +0100)]
srd: remove obsolete DDC-only I2C filter

8 years agosrd: add generic I2C filter PD
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 17:05:11 +0000 (18:05 +0100)]
srd: add generic I2C filter PD

8 years agosrd: Add missing <inttypes.h> #include (for PRIu64).
Uwe Hermann [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 19:17:15 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
srd: Add missing <inttypes.h> #include (for PRIu64).

8 years agoedid: properly deal with leading I2C crud + small fixes
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 23:48:07 +0000 (00:48 +0100)]
edid: properly deal with leading I2C crud + small fixes

8 years agosrd: removed stray malloc()
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 00:23:35 +0000 (01:23 +0100)]
srd: removed stray malloc()

8 years agosrd: clear objects after final decref, so it doesn't happen twice
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 00:22:27 +0000 (01:22 +0100)]
srd: clear objects after final decref, so it doesn't happen twice

8 years agoedid: move PD docstring to __init__.py
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 19:13:43 +0000 (20:13 +0100)]
edid: move PD docstring to __init__.py

also minor code cleanups

8 years agosrd: add EDID 1.3 decoder
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 17:43:45 +0000 (18:43 +0100)]
srd: add EDID 1.3 decoder

8 years agoddc: add protocol output
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 17:42:10 +0000 (18:42 +0100)]
ddc: add protocol output

8 years agoUpdate/enforce/document our build requirements.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 20:26:56 +0000 (21:26 +0100)]
Update/enforce/document our build requirements.

8 years agosrd: Drop unneeded check, g_free() handles NULL fine.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 20:26:26 +0000 (21:26 +0100)]
srd: Drop unneeded check, g_free() handles NULL fine.

8 years agosrd: PDs: Cleanups, simplifications, small fixes.
Uwe Hermann [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 18:08:13 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
srd: PDs: Cleanups, simplifications, small fixes.

8 years agosrd: mlx90614: Show more exact temperature.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 17:47:27 +0000 (18:47 +0100)]
srd: mlx90614: Show more exact temperature.

8 years agosrd: Use PRIu64 for uint64_t values.
Uwe Hermann [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 17:38:16 +0000 (18:38 +0100)]
srd: Use PRIu64 for uint64_t values.

Using %d seems to silently work on Linux, but leads to a segfault on
Windows/MinGW.

8 years agosrd: add more debugging around probe mapping
Bert Vermeulen [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 07:21:58 +0000 (08:21 +0100)]
srd: add more debugging around probe mapping

8 years agosrd: use format string where one is expected
Bert Vermeulen [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 00:14:01 +0000 (01:14 +0100)]
srd: use format string where one is expected

8 years agosrd: Melexis MLX90614 Infrared Thermometer decoder.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 22:48:11 +0000 (23:48 +0100)]
srd: Melexis MLX90614 Infrared Thermometer decoder.

8 years agosrd: Remove manual log domain ("srd: ") prefixes.
Uwe Hermann [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 00:15:10 +0000 (01:15 +0100)]
srd: Remove manual log domain ("srd: ") prefixes.

8 years agosrd: log: Support for setting a log domain (prefix).
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 10:00:04 +0000 (11:00 +0100)]
srd: log: Support for setting a log domain (prefix).

8 years agosrd: UART: s/parity/parity_type/.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 21:25:25 +0000 (22:25 +0100)]
srd: UART: s/parity/parity_type/.

8 years agosrd: All PDs: Various fixes, cosmetics.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 21:11:38 +0000 (22:11 +0100)]
srd: All PDs: Various fixes, cosmetics.

 - List all API methods and metadata variables in all PDs to make things
   easier and more consistent for new PD writers.

 - Fix probe assignment in a few PDs.

 - Raise exceptions upon invalid states of the PD state machines (bug).

8 years agosrd: mx25lxx05d: Cleanups, add optional probes.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 18:02:11 +0000 (19:02 +0100)]
srd: mx25lxx05d: Cleanups, add optional probes.

8 years agosrd: Support for registering a custom log handler.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 01:52:27 +0000 (02:52 +0100)]
srd: Support for registering a custom log handler.

8 years agosrd: Add Epson RTC-8564 JE/NB protocol decoder.
Uwe Hermann [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 00:49:32 +0000 (01:49 +0100)]
srd: Add Epson RTC-8564 JE/NB protocol decoder.

8 years agosrd: properly recurse into PD instances when looking for one.
Bert Vermeulen [Wed, 25 Jan 2012 00:49:35 +0000 (01:49 +0100)]
srd: properly recurse into PD instances when looking for one.

This fixes the confusion between parallel and linear stacks.

8 years agosr: better error reporting
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 02:51:02 +0000 (03:51 +0100)]
sr: better error reporting

8 years agosrd: change struct srd_pd_output to have a path to the DI, not the decoder.
Bert Vermeulen [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 01:02:03 +0000 (02:02 +0100)]
srd: change struct srd_pd_output to have a path to the DI, not the decoder.

8 years agosrd: Prepend (not append) PD dirs to sys.path.
Uwe Hermann [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 18:58:06 +0000 (19:58 +0100)]
srd: Prepend (not append) PD dirs to sys.path.

8 years agosrd: deal with invalid probe specifications better
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 18:34:23 +0000 (19:34 +0100)]
srd: deal with invalid probe specifications better

8 years agosrd: i2cdemux: add missing Makefile.am
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 04:03:25 +0000 (05:03 +0100)]
srd: i2cdemux: add missing Makefile.am

8 years agosrd: use new exception system everywhere
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 03:51:33 +0000 (04:51 +0100)]
srd: use new exception system everywhere

8 years agosrd: add python exception catcher, which routes to srd_err() and srd_dbg()
Bert Vermeulen [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 01:20:51 +0000 (02:20 +0100)]
srd: add python exception catcher, which routes to srd_err() and srd_dbg()

8 years agosrd: minor code cleanup
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 02:29:22 +0000 (03:29 +0100)]
srd: minor code cleanup

8 years agosrd: Add generic i2cdemux protocol decoder.
Uwe Hermann [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 13:28:48 +0000 (14:28 +0100)]
srd: Add generic i2cdemux protocol decoder.

8 years agosrd: make all debugging and error reporting uniform
Bert Vermeulen [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 01:51:49 +0000 (02:51 +0100)]
srd: make all debugging and error reporting uniform

8 years agosrd: use more appropriate calls for integer constants
Bert Vermeulen [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 23:53:24 +0000 (00:53 +0100)]
srd: use more appropriate calls for integer constants

8 years agosrd: better check for PDs with no defined probes
Bert Vermeulen [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 18:45:04 +0000 (19:45 +0100)]
srd: better check for PDs with no defined probes