pdtest: Make exit code communicate the termination cause not counts
authorGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Wed, 25 Jan 2017 20:09:20 +0000 (21:09 +0100)
committerGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Wed, 25 Jan 2017 21:08:14 +0000 (22:08 +0100)
commit1a5417590cebb5f168079993778b608a131088a3
tree57601b1a9df3a1ebbf2f12a7a2ed2dbce410b6e5
parenta1c10c43350cfbed4ac09d75b07158aac0944c46
pdtest: Make exit code communicate the termination cause not counts

On one hand the exit(3) API might limit the range of values that can get
communicated to callers (a single byte is used in some implementations).
On the other hand wait(2) might interpret specific meaning into some of
the returned values (abnormal cause of termination, like unhandled
signals). So the use of error counts as exit codes for processes can be
severely constrained. For specific non-zero values of error counts, an
exit code of zero might be seen at the caller's side (modulo calculation
or truncation).

Don't pass error or difference counts to exit(3). Instead communicate
the kind of termination (error or difference or success) in exit codes
which reliably can get evaluated by callers.
decoder/pdtest