doc: update manpage, mention -A and annotation rows
authorGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Fri, 19 Apr 2019 15:02:22 +0000 (17:02 +0200)
committerUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Thu, 9 May 2019 13:04:46 +0000 (15:04 +0200)
Extend the manpage section which documents the -A option to select
annotation output. Mention that rows are supported in addition to
classes.

Rephrase the paragraph about multiple decoder specs in a single -A
option. Each of them can select multiple annotation classes, while the
previous documentation strongly suggested that only one class would be
available. [ best viewed with 'git diff -U10' ]

doc/sigrok-cli.1

index de0093f..54fb285 100644 (file)
@@ -327,8 +327,17 @@ Select multiple annotation classes by separating them with a colon:
 .br
 .B "              \-A i2c=data\-read:data\-write"
 .sp
-You can also select multiple protocol decoders, with an optional selected
-annotation class each, by separating them with commas:
+Annotation row names will resolve to their respective list of classes.
+Row and class names can be used in combination. When names are ambiguous
+then class names take precedence.
+.sp
+ $
+.B "sigrok\-cli \-i <file.sr> \-P i2c"
+.br
+.B "              \-A i2c=addr\-data:warnings"
+.sp
+You can also select multiple protocol decoders, with optionally selected
+annotation classes each, by separating them with commas:
 .sp
  $
 .B "sigrok\-cli \-i <file.sr> \-P i2c,i2cfilter,edid"