hp-3478a: Only match when conn= is given to avoid false probe positives.
authorFrank Stettner <frank-stettner@gmx.net>
Mon, 24 May 2021 10:56:52 +0000 (12:56 +0200)
committerGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Wed, 30 Jun 2021 18:34:21 +0000 (20:34 +0200)
commit8ef4fb3347830023b80a5e121c7ffd66e10f4944
treec40c18ecf2552906ca50ef873c93300268a5e074
parent0e3c3c80b86b7ea7590225186953ea0c4d603613
hp-3478a: Only match when conn= is given to avoid false probe positives.

The HP 3478A device would not reliably identify by means of SCPI queries. The
previous scan() implementation would have matched any connected SCPI device,
then upset these devices by emitting non-SCPI requests.

Tighten the scope of the hp-3478a probe, only scan for devices when a conn=
spec was provided. This avoids false positives and malfunction of other
devices, and still lets users address the problematic device. This is similar
to serial-dmm and unspecific cables and has proven to work there.
src/hardware/hp-3478a/api.c