doc: mention lack of decoder signal name matching in manpage
authorGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Wed, 10 Oct 2018 08:13:51 +0000 (10:13 +0200)
committerUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Sun, 21 Oct 2018 22:31:19 +0000 (00:31 +0200)
Users may assume that sigrok-cli automatically matches input trace names
to decoder signals like pulseview does, and not be able to learn that
this is not the case. Explicitly state that limitation in the manpage.

doc/sigrok-cli.1

index 8fbb3a1f3e3253deb740a37700395f13d764d63f..eac5942df7d0ebee19607133b4c660db2371cb43 100644 (file)
@@ -229,6 +229,12 @@ is an option supported by the
 protocol decoder. Additionally, the user tells sigrok to decode the SPI
 protocol using channel 1 as MISO signal for SPI, channel 5 as MOSI, channel 3
 as CLK, and channel 0 as CS# signal.
+.sp
+Notice that the
+.B sigrok\-cli
+application does not support "name matching". Instead it's assumed that the
+traces in the input stream match the order of the decoder's input signals,
+or that users explicitly specify the input channel to decoder signal mapping.
 .br
 .sp
 When multiple decoders are specified in the same