configure.ac: Add support for Python 3.8.
authorUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Tue, 12 Nov 2019 20:58:23 +0000 (21:58 +0100)
committerUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Tue, 12 Nov 2019 21:33:24 +0000 (22:33 +0100)
This fixes bug #1438.

configure.ac

index 772b984ed6b8cdcda9c496e5443b4fb10c3780e3..d59e0bea35ee64618169ce4feac351559ab5cfa2 100644 (file)
@@ -89,15 +89,18 @@ SRD_PKGLIBS_TESTS=
 SR_PKG_CHECK_SUMMARY([srd_pkglibs_summary])
 
 # Python 3 is always needed.
+# Starting with Python 3.8 we need to check for "python-3.8-embed"
+# first, since usually only that variant will add "-lpython3.8".
+# https://docs.python.org/3/whatsnew/3.8.html#debug-build-uses-the-same-abi-as-release-build
 SR_PKG_CHECK([python3], [SRD_PKGLIBS],
-       [python3 >= 3.2], [python-3.7 >= 3.7], [python-3.6 >= 3.6], [python-3.5 >= 3.5], [python-3.4 >= 3.4], [python-3.3 >= 3.3], [python-3.2 >= 3.2])
+       [python-3.8-embed], [python-3.8 >= 3.8], [python-3.7 >= 3.7], [python-3.6 >= 3.6], [python-3.5 >= 3.5], [python-3.4 >= 3.4], [python-3.3 >= 3.3], [python-3.2 >= 3.2], [python3 >= 3.2])
 AS_IF([test "x$sr_have_python3" = xno],
        [AC_MSG_ERROR([Cannot find Python 3 development headers.])])
 
 # We also need to find the name of the python3 executable (for 'make install').
 # Some OSes call this python3, some call it python3.2, etc. etc.
 AC_ARG_VAR([PYTHON3], [Python 3 interpreter])
-AC_CHECK_PROGS([PYTHON3], [python3.7 python3.6 python3.5 python3.4 python3.3 python3.2 python3])
+AC_CHECK_PROGS([PYTHON3], [python3.8 python3.7 python3.6 python3.5 python3.4 python3.3 python3.2 python3])
 AS_IF([test "x$PYTHON3" = x],
        [AC_MSG_ERROR([Cannot find Python 3 interpreter.])])