Doxygen: Document how to mark private stuff.
authorUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Sat, 9 Feb 2013 20:43:46 +0000 (21:43 +0100)
committerUwe Hermann <uwe@hermann-uwe.de>
Sat, 9 Feb 2013 21:11:26 +0000 (22:11 +0100)
HACKING

diff --git a/HACKING b/HACKING
index 922415faac884416ebeb7756fcf632c49f9ea2dc..dc4d53d45b37592eda9d750e8e585156d5e9fcf3 100644 (file)
--- a/HACKING
+++ b/HACKING
@@ -74,10 +74,22 @@ Random notes
    should end with "_all", e.g. "_remove_all", "_get_all", and so on.
    Use "_remove_all" in favor of "_clear" for consistency.
 
+
+Doxygen
+-------
+
  - In Doxygen comments, put an empty line between the block of @param lines
    and the final @return line. The @param lines themselves (if there is more
    than one) are not separated by empty lines.
 
+ - Mark private functions (SRD_PRIV) with /** @private */, so that Doxygen
+   doesn't include them in the output. Functions that are "static" anyway
+   don't need to be marked like this.
+
+ - Mark private variables/#defines with /** @cond PRIVATE */ and
+   /** @endcond */, so that Doxygen doesn't include them in the output.
+   Variables that are "static" don't need to be marked like this.
+
 
 Protocol decoder guidelines
 ---------------------------