serial: extend semantics of connection and comm params extraction helper
authorGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Sat, 22 May 2021 11:27:43 +0000 (13:27 +0200)
committerGerhard Sittig <gerhard.sittig@gmx.net>
Tue, 1 Jun 2021 06:20:16 +0000 (08:20 +0200)
commit9d6a896014ae88645d72287bf09a0de2925c532b
tree59bd5b304645b8e136c218b003579fa7f08b7b67
parent5bf642dbf80b8070b238ec1d83454e677cb2336b
serial: extend semantics of connection and comm params extraction helper

The sr_serial_extract_options() routine is a hidden gem, has existed for
almost eight years, and is exclusively used by the motech-lps-301 driver
(was also used by hameg-hmo at some point in the past). Being so useful
and doing something to terribly popular, more drivers should use it.

Extend the API to make either of the out parameters genuinely optional,
and guarantee that pre-assigned defaults will survive in the absence of
user specs. Update the Doxygen comment.
src/serial.c